Britstown is named after Hans Brits, once a travelling companion of the missionary, David Livingstone. In 1877, a community centre and church were built on a section of his farm, Gemsbokfontein. Irrigation of the area had already started in 1885. In 1961, a flood destroyed one of the irrigation dams, but this was rebuilt in 1964.
Adventure and Sport
Hunting: Contact the Northern Cape Hunters’ Association for more information.
Hiking: Explore the area on foot.
Archaeology and Palaeontology
San Rock Art: Make an appointment to see the San Rock Art on the farm Brakwater.
History and Architecture Britstown Museum: The museum, in Raath Street, is housed in the old Holy Trinity Church. Dutch Reformed Church: This lovely building in Church Street was built in 1877. Museum: The museum in Richmond Street displays different historical means of transport.