After gold was discovered at Barberton, a permanent stopover for transport drivers was established on a farm in the Carolina area in 1885. The owner of the farm insisted that the fledgling village be named after his wife Carolina. However the local inhabitants call the village “Silobela”. The village suffered severe damage during the Anglo-Boer War but has since been rebuilt. Carolina lies in a predominantly farming area that produces beef, mutton, dairy, wool and timber.
Adventure And Sport
Angling and water-sport: The Nooitgedacht and Boesmanspruit Dams have excellent facilities for angling and water-sport.
Golf: Carolina boasts a nine-hole golf course that is also open to visitors.
Hiking Trails: There are various hiking trails in the area. Waterfalls, caves and bird breeding-sites may be found on these trails, which include the Hebron, Mountain Trout, Kalkoenkrans and Suikerboschfontein Hiking Trails.
Archaeology And Palaeontology
San rock art: San rock art sites are located at several places in the district.
Fauna And Flora
Bird-watching: Approximately 200 different species of birds have made this area their home. Exotic birds, such as the bald ibis, have also been sighted here.
Nooitgedacht Dam Nature Reserve: The 3 350 ha Nooitgedacht Dam Nature Reserve is about 10 km from Carolina on the Komati River. Yachting, angling and camping opportunities exist at the dam while the reserve affords visitors the opportunity of experiencing the unique beauty of this Higveld grassland area with its interesting varieties of game, such as grey rhebok, steenbok, and grey duiker.
Scenic route: Take Road R 8 to Badplaas where you can take a break and have a leisurely soak in the warm pools at the Badplaas Spa and Hot Springs and then drive through the rolling hills and valleys, over Nelshoogte Pass to the Lowveld town of Barberton.
History And Architecture
Anglican Church: The sandstone De Oude Kerk Restaurant was once the town’s Anglican Church.
Historic bridge: Grobler Bridge over the Komati River was built in 1896.
Historic buildings: There are several beautiful old stone houses in and around the town. The magnificent old stone church stands surrounded by pine trees growing in the sweeping grounds.
Old Trading Post and Post Office: The first trading post and post office built in the area is situated on Bonnefoi Farm, 17 km out of town.
War statue: A statue commemorating the men of the district who fought in the Anglo-Boer War stands near the stone church.