The Voortrekkers (Cape Dutch Pioneers) founded the town in 1837 and it quickly expanded because of the rich gold seam in the area. The first magistrate of the community, Jacob de Clerq, gave his name to the town after twelve Voortrekker families settled in the area. After the discovery of gold in 1886, thousands of prospectors streamed to the area. The economy of the city is based on agriculture and mining and the town boats the second largest grain co-operative in the world.
Adventure And Sport
Fly-fishing: Fly-fishing for coarse fish is a popular pastime and sport in Klerksdorp.
“Ou Dorp” (Old Town) Hiking Trail: The 11 km “Ou Dorp” Hiking Trail leads through the old part of Klerksdorp. Various historical sites are found on the route, such as the remaining homes of the town’s original twelve Voortrekker families and the ruins of prehistoric kraals.
Rhino Rock Horses: Visitors may rent horses from the Rhino Rock Horses establishment and follow the horse trails. It also has a riding school.
Archaeology And Palaeontology
Bosworth Farm San Rock Art: The farm Bosworth is the site of some 600 San rock art images. The images range from geometric to animal and human images. As the site is on private land, visitors have to make prior arrangements to visit it.
Entertainment And Shopping
Johan Neser Dam: The recreational facilities at the Johan Neser Dam on Schoonspruit, northwest of the city, are excellent.
Fauna And Flora
Faan Meintjies Nature Reserve: Rhinoceros and over 30 other species of animals roam the Faan Meintjies Nature Reserve whilst more than 150 species of birds keep birdwatchers’ eyes glued to the skies .
Plant House: The Plant House was established to protect several species of indigenous and exotic plants. It is situated in the municipal gardens.
Rob Ferreira Nature Reserve and Holiday Resort: About 6 km out of town, this resort has been developed to offer visitors the benefit of the mineral springs of the area and the natural beauty of the banks of the Vaal River.
History And Architecture
Goudkoppie (Golden hill): Visitors can spend a leisurely few hours studying the 19th Century mine shafts on Goudkoppie, as well as the rocks on which British regiments made some inscriptions while they were stationed here during the Anglo-Boer War.
Jack Scott House: Jack Scott was the father of modern-day mining in the area. His tin house was imported from Britain.
Klerksdorp Museum: The Klerksdorp Museum is housed in the former prison, a beautiful sandstone building. The exhibits depict aspects of early town life, as well as archaeological, social and geological information about the area. The museum shop also sells bottles of Peach Mampoer and assorted Soet Blits liqueurs, for long the traditional beverage of the farmers.
Klerksdorp Railway Station and Old Flag Room: Paul Kruger officially opened Klerksdorp Railway Station in 1897, when the railway line from Krugersdorp reached the town.
Old Cemetery: British soldiers who died during the Anglo-Boer War were buried in the Old Cemetery, side by side with Boer children who died in the British concentration camps.
Stock Exchange building: The town’s economy had boomed to such an extent during the gold rush that a Stock Exchange was built in 1888. The building remains intact to this day.
Mine tours: Mine tours take visitors to the Klerksdorp and Stilfontein gold mines. Prior arrangements need to be made.