The town was laid out in 1881 and was formerly known as Buffelsrivier. Its name was later changed to Laingsburg after John Laing, the then Commissioner of Crown Clands of the Cape Colony. The town was in the news a century later when the Buffels River came down in flood in 1981 and destroyed almost the entire town. Since then, Laingsburg has been rebuilt, but many of its residents still carry the emotional burden of the tragedy.
Adventure And Sport
Anysberg: This mountain is frequented by hikers, abseilers and cavers.
Hiking: Several hiking trails criss-cross the area. Hikers are treated to magnificent mountain scenery and abundant bird life.
Karoo Ultra Marathon: This 80-km marathon has been held here for more than 33 years. Year after year, runners come back to explore the heart of the Karoo.
Archaeology And Palaeontology
Fossils: The town of Laingsburg is considered a geological paradise. The local mudstone is layered with fossils and volcanic ash blown across from South America 250 million years ago has also been found in the district. This takes the form of a white band of quartz that runs across the veld, evidence of continental drift, as a similar layer has been discovered in South America.
Art And Crafts
Karoofees: This festival attracts many visitors to the area every year. The festival normally includes a beer tent, veld restaurant, half marathon and musical performances.
Fauna And Flora
Scenic Drives: The Vleiland, Rouxpos, Witteberge and Rooiberg Passes offer lovely views of the magnificent mountain scenery.
History And Architecture
Old Blockhouse: This concrete structure is located alongside the bridge over the Geelbek River. The blockhouse was built by the British during the Anglo-Boer War.