The name of the town means “Town of the Saviour” (the Saviour being Jesus Christ). The town was established by the Dutch Reformed Church in 1859 and since then its history has been closely linked to the Church. It was run along strict Christian principles. At one time even the use of profane language could lead to banishment from the town. Reddersburg became a municipality in 1894.
Adventure And Sport
Hunting: Several hunting facilities are available in the Reddersburg district.
Sport: The town has golf, squash and tennis facilities.
Tierpoort Dam: The nearby Tierpoort Dam offers birdwatching, angling, boating and other water sport opportunities.
Fauna And Flora
Crocodile Farm: Make an appointment first before visiting the Crocodile Farm in the Reddersburg area.
Mooifontein Game Ranch: This 1 200 ha game reserve with its flat, grassy plains and hilly terrain offers game viewing and trophy hunting coupled with superb accommodation and hospitality.
Entertainment And Shopping
Home Industries: There are several enterprising farmers and farmers’ wives in this area, who bake and sell delicious eats, such as cookies and rusks. Do not leave town before sampling some.
History And Architecture
Mostertshoek Battlefield: Mostertshoek Battlefield where the Boers overwhelmed the British in the Battle of Mostertshoek in April 1900, lies near the town.
Bethany Mission Station: The Bethany Mission Station about 20 km out of town on the Wurasoord Road has been given back to the Griqua people who lived there many years ago. The Mission Church has a beautiful pulpit. There are also two old mission houses and a mission school on the premises.
Burger Monument: The Burger Monument in front of the Reformed Church is dedicated to fallen Boer soldiers from the Reddersburg area.
Centenary Monument: The Centenary Monument was erected in 1938 to commemorate the Great Trek.
De Wet Obelisk: An obelisk was erected in honour of General Christiaan De Wet, the Boer commander, who succeeded in capturing an entire British column at Reddersburg during the Anglo-Boer War. The Small Paardekraal Monument, erected in response to his last public address on the farm Wolwas in 1920, forms part of this monument .
Historic Churches: The two sandstone churches, namely the Reformed and Dutch Reformed Churches, are prominent landmarks in the town. Both were built with stone from local quarries. The Reformed Church was designed by Gerhard Moerdyk and boasts a unique interior design.
School Building: The little school built in the town in 1900 has been declared a National monument.
Old Jail: The town’s original jail stands behind the present Police Station Building and is open for viewing.
Postma Building: This beautifully preserved building belongs to the Reformed Church and was erected in 1863 as a church building. It subsequently did duty as a hospital during the Basotho War and as a place of safety for women, children and the aged during the Anglo-Boer War. Today, it harbours a museum depicting the history of the church and parish.
Postma Grave: The grave of the Reverend W Postma, much loved cleric and founder of the church and also an enthusiastic proponent of the Afrikaans language, is in the town’s cemetery. Amonument commemorating his and others’ efforts to support the use and development of Afrikaans was erected next to the National Road in 1975.
Republic Monument: This small monument commemorates the day (31 May 1961) that South Africa became a Republic.