Haenertsburg and Magoebaskloof

On the slopes of the mighty Wolkberg, part of the northern Drakensberg Mountain Range, lies the picturesque village of Haenertsburg – capital of the “Land of the Silver Mists”. The town was named after Carl Ferdinand Haenert who discovered gold in the area, a discovery that started a gold rush to what became known as […]

Polokwane (Pietersburg)

The name of the capital of the Limpopo, Polokwane, means “Place of Safety”. Known until fairly recently as Pietersburg, it is the largest metropolitan complex in the north of the country. Polokwane was founded in 1884, when the Voortrekkers (early Boer settlers) found it necessary to seek a healthier and safer area south of the […]

Mokopane (Potgietersrus)

Mokopane, known until recently as Potgietersrus, is approximately two hours’ drive from Gauteng, and is an ideal stopover for travellers on their way to Botswana, Zimbabwe or the northern part of the Kruger National Park. It is a joy to travel through this typical bushveld area where the acacia trees and aloes seem to stand […]